One of our ideas for helping Because Every Mother Matters was to do a booth at the Apple Festival.  Angi ran with it and things started to fall into place. 

On a Saturday we had a big turnout of girls and women from our church working with us to make jewelry to sell in the booth.
 
Over Labor Day weekend Angi discovered button bracelets and thought those would be a great thing to sell for BEMM, if only she had the buttons. Without ever asking, the next day at church a member of the congregation came up to her to say that he had a whole bag of old buttons that she could have.  If she thought she could use them.
My friend Tonia handmade three stuffed elephants.  My sister-in-law Lori donated two purses.  My mother-in-law and a few others from church knitted headbands, gloves, hats, blankets and baby clothes.  Angi made faux stained glass windows.  The booth started coming together. 
Originally, I wasn't going to be able to be at the festival on Friday, because I had to work.  But the night before things worked out so that my co-worker Wendy could cover for me.  I was so thankful that I was able to be there for both days.

Thursday night Angi packed up half of the furniture from her home and we set up shop.  We could not have imagined all that would happen in that little booth over the next two days.
Part Three coming tomorrow...

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.