Ethiopia is a landlocked country in the Horn of Africa and is bordered by Eritrea to the north, Sudan to the west, Djibouti and Somalia to the east, and Kenya to the south. With just over 435,000 square miles (almost twice the size of Texas), Ethiopia is the world’s 27th largest country.

There are over 80 different languages spoken throughout Ethiopia, but Amharic is the official and most-spoken language in the country.

Christians (mainly Ethiopian Orthodox) make up a little over 60% of Ethiopia’s population. Another 32% are Muslim, while 3% of the population practices other religions.

Ethiopia uses the Coptic calendar which is almost 8 years behind the Gregorian calendar. It includes twelve 30-day months and a 13th month of five days (six days in leap years). 
The current year according to the Ethiopian calendar is 2003, which began on September 11, 2010 of the Gregorian calendar.

Ethiopia has 24 hours in a day. However, Ethiopia has shifted their clock by six hours so that the clock rolls over at 6 am - the start of the day. This is done due to the fact that Ethiopia is located near the equator and the sun comes up at the same time every day of the year.

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.

Leave a Reply.