I won!!!
Picture
A few weeks ago I entered a contest to win this awesome watercolor created by a fellow AWAA Ethiopia mom.  The winner was chosen by the best answer to the question "why it is important to help children in need?"  I was in it to win it with my answer.  It also helped that there were only five other contestants.  When I went back to reread my answer there was a typo in the first line.  But, God bless her, Katie chose me anyway!  I am so excited to have this to hang in baby's room.

I am also excited to add another win to my career.  For those of you keeping track, this is my second lifetime win.  About 23 years ago I won a Halloween coloring contest at the drug store.  My prize of choice- a vampire costume in a box. 

Katie has a whole line of beautiful nursery artwork on Etsy.  Many of them would be suitable for any nursery, but my favorites are specific to little Ethiopian girls.  I especially love the one with the girl in jammies reaching for the white hand.  Her prices are rediculously low.  If I had that much talent I'd probably charge a thousand dollars for a print.  But since they are only about $9, we'll be buying some soon!
Tonia
6/7/2011 10:45:49 am

Those prints are adorable!

Are you going to share your winning answer?!?

I think I won the same coloring contest. My costume-in-a-box of choice was a neon, glow in the dark skeleton. Super girly.

Reply
Brandy Wade
6/7/2011 11:07:13 am

I think mine had a little bit of glow in the dark too!! And the plastic mask smelled really terrible inside. I loved that thing.

Reply
Brandy Wade
6/7/2011 11:10:57 am

Here is the winning answer. Typo and all...

Why is it important to reach out to children in need? Because you can't count assume that someone else is going to do it. Everyone knows that there are children in need in the USA and around the world. But if we all assume that someone else is taking care of it... then NO ONE takes care of these children. There isn't enough being done for these children if there are un-adopted children in US foster care, 127 million orphans worldwide, children living on the street peddling or enslaved. We all have to do our part. There are so many ways to get involved. Become a CASA for your county, sponsor a child in another country, become a foster parent, adopt, or find your own special niche. Just get out there and do something for the children! You'll find yourself being as rewarded as they are.

Reply
Lori
6/7/2011 12:42:43 pm

OOOOOO!!!! So cute! Congrats Brandy! :)

Reply
Tonia
6/9/2011 11:23:13 pm

Your answer didn't disappoint. :)

Reply
Amanda
6/10/2011 04:19:24 am

Oh my gosh, I remember that mask!!! It totally glowed in the dark... I think this prize might just be better...maybe.. :)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.