Picture
For Christmas this year I asked my mother-in-law (see Meme in the Mother's Day Post below) for this book: 29 Gifts - How a Month of Giving can Change your Life. 

The author is a young woman, living in California with Multiple Sclerosis.  She is very ill and can hardly walk.  At her lowest point, an African medicine woman asks her to try giving one gift every day for 29 days and see what happens.

I didn't get around to reading this until a couple of weeks ago when we were just home from my surgery.  I'll be honest, at first I didn't really like it and I thought about not finishing it.  This is not a Christian book per se, it's a combobulation of... everything.

But hang in there, the lessons are worth the while. 

She learns that even in her condition she has a lot to offer the world.  She learns that when you give... you always get back and so she becomes a more gracious recipient.  And most importantly she learns that what she has to offer is enough.

So for all givers out there, big and small, I would say there is a lot to learn from this book.

I hope you live in the Linton, Indiana area and feel like giving BIG this evening.  There is a fundraiser concert at the Linton-Stockton High School at 6pm tonight (May 12) for a local family whose nine-year-old daughter is going blindThe one chance at regaining her sight is a $60,000 operation in China, where insurance isn't accepted.  You can read more about their story here.

Of course if you live out of town and would like to donate, we would love to get you in touch with the right people.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.