And we know that for those who love God, that is, for those who are called according to his purpose, all things are working together for good.  Romans 8:28
On August 23rd I had a conversation with my dad about adoption.  We talked about the number of orphan care organizations versus the absence of organizations preventing orphans.  To prevent a child from being orphaned in the first place is the greatest thing we could do, right?  But where were the people trying to do that?

The very next morning I came across this post, Numbers Mean Nothing, on our friends the Seevers adoption blog.  It was a post about Because Every Mother Matters.  I hadn't heard of them before.  I was intrigued because Jeff wrote the post himself and it seemed like an uncommon post for a man to write.  So I went to the BEMM website for the first time.  An hour later I had read every word on their site and emailed Steffany Boster (the woman behind BEMM) to simply say, "I love what you are doing.  How can I help you?"

I wanted to write her a great big check.  But we're stuck still trying to finance the rest of our adoption, so the best I could have done was write a check for $25.  That would have been easy.  But it wouldn't have been enough.
Picture
Click the photo to read about the creation of BEMM.
I emailed Angi the link and my exact words were, "What can we do for these people?!"  

Finally, an organization trying to keep mothers alive for their children. 

Within a few days Angi and I were Skyping with Steffany.  It was a little bit weird to skype with a total stranger!  But we were blown away by her storyAnd even more excited than ever to help.  On BEMM.org Steffany's story from 2007 starts like this...

"You never know the impact that will be made when you choose to get involved in someone else's life. It may start off as a simple gesture. A smile. A friendly hello. In the midst of a tiring journey when all you want to do is veg out, tune out, you instead choose to reach out."

It would have been easier for Angi and I to write her a check or buy something from her shop, but we felt a nudge to do more.  To take a step out in faith and try to do something bigger.
Picture
Steffany Boster in Ethiopia
Part Two coming tomorrow...
10/22/2011 12:11:05 pm

no words!!!!!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.