Much like any country, there are borders within Ethiopia. The country has 9 regions and 2 chartered cities. The regions are broken up by ethnic group and are listed as follows:

1.) Addis Ababa (city)
2.) Afar
3.) Amhara
4.) Benishangul-Gumuz
5.) Dire Dawa (city)
6.) Gambela
7.) Harari
8.) Oromiya
9.) Somali
10.) Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples Region
11.) Tigray

The largest of the regions (by population and area) is the Oromiya Region (labelled "8" on the map). It's home to nearly 27 million people.



03/15/2011 8:51pm

Interesting-I didn't know this!

Emily Wildeboer
06/09/2011 6:15pm

I'm doing a project on Ethiopia... this information was great help! My map is definetely not as good as this one, however, but it would have been worse without the help!


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.

Leave a Reply