Two weeks ago I found the book, Organized Simplicity, on another blog.  I bought it with the Kindle Ap and started reading it right away.  Then I started tearing our house apart, room by room, hauling out bags of trash and boxes (and boxes) of yard sale junk.  Logan says our house has lost two hundred pounds.  We have gotten rid of a LOT.  


Right now I am sitting at my computer desk with a completely empty surface.  For years the clutter on this desk has grown and overflowed with scrap paper, books, business cards, folders and junk I've kept just in case.  So I took every single thing off of the desk for a week, intending to bring back the things as I needed them.  I didn't bring back a single thing.  All of that clutter, that I've spent hours and hours surrounded by... I didn't need one single bit of it.  Who know?


One great thing about this book is the idea of creating of a family purpose statement.  I haven't finalized ours yet, but I think it's a good idea to have a written out purpose for our family.  Sort of a filter for new ideas, new things, new obligations... we can just ask ourselves: Does this serve our purpose?  


As I was finishing in one room and putting back the few decorations that I decided to keep, I put this word "Simplify" back on the shelf.  We had gotten it a few Christmases ago, and even though primitive isn't our style, we've always like the idea of Simplicity.  So we kept it up in the living room.  The S broke off once, but we glued it back on.  Putting it back on the shelf it fell off and broke again.  I thought for a moment about gluing it back together again and what it pain it was to do last time.  Then I thought about how hard it is to dust between those letters.  Come to think of it, I kind of hate that little sign.  I just laughed.  


We're simplifying... and I hope that you can tell it from our home and not from the glued-up sign in our living room, because that was just one more thing that went into the trash.
Mom
9/17/2012 10:39:16 am

Hahaha I can't wait to come over ! I'm bringing my white glove tomorrow.

Reply
Brandy
9/17/2012 10:18:49 pm

Bring it, lady. Bring it.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.